The Scots School
" Trouthe and Honour Fredom and Curteisie "
Duke of Edinburgh Award

Duke of Edinburgh Award


The Duke of Edinburgh Award has a long and successful history at The Scots School, re-entering the co-curricular program in 2016. The Duke of Edinburgh Award is an internationally recognised youth development program which empowers young people to explore their full potential. The Award involves three Levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold each progressively offering more challenging opportunities in the areas of Physical Recreation, Skill Development, Service, Adventurous Journey and Residential Project (Gold Level only).

Many of the components of the Duke of Edinburgh Award are presently being completed by our students through the many co-curricular activities they are already involved in at school. Students will work closely with Mr Harris (the Award Leader) to credential themselves for what they are already doing and pushing themselves to strive for personal growth. All year 9 students are expected to complete the requirements of the Bronze Level Award by the end of this year and then decide if they would like to continue to the Silver Level Award in Year 10.

The Duke of Edinburgh Award is available to all Year 9, 10, 11 and 12 students. Students who have not previously completed the Bronze Level of the Award may register at the Bronze Level or as a Direct Silver Entry in Year 10, or Direct Gold Entry in Year 11. It is the students who complete all three Levels of the Award that have the most to gain in terms of the credential, however, the process and activities involved at all three Levels is of enormous benefit.

The Adventurous Journey component of The Duke of Edinburgh Award requires students to complete a challenging yet very rewarding outdoor expedition. Conduct of the expedition will be under the auspices of the highly professional Outdoor Education Group with Mr Bailey as school liaison and other Scots staff in attendance with each group. The Bronze Level Award students will complete both the Qualifying and Assessment requirements in the one Adventurous Journey over four days in Term 3. This Adventurous Journey will take place in the Wolgan Valley and is compulsory for all students in Year 9, even if they do not complete the other requirements of the Bronze Award. 

Silver Level Award students complete two separate expeditions: a Qualifying Journey in Term 3, and, an Assessment Journey following Speech Day in Term 4, a very exciting conclusion to their School year.

Gold Level Award students will also be required to complete a Residential Project of no less than five days and four nights in a community away from their usual residence, and, away from their usual peers. The Residential Project is an exciting opportunity for Year 11 and Year 12 students to broaden their horizons.

For further information on The Duke of Edinburgh Award, please look at the forms available to the right, their website or contact Mr Duane Bailey (

Below are photographs from the Adventurous Journey - Wolgan Valley 2016




Participant Award Plan Form 

Guide for Bronze Award Participants

Duke of Edinburgh Award Information Presentation

Reception: 02 6331 2766
The Scots School Bathurst
4173 O’Connell Road
The Scots School Lithgow
Pre-Kindergarten to Year 6
1 Col Drewe Drive

A Work of the Presbyterian Church of New South Wales