The Scots School
" Trouthe and Honour Fredom and Curteisie "
School Board

School Board

The Board of The Scots School Bathurst and Lithgow is a group of twelve members, elected for terms of three years by the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Australia in New South Wales. We are non-executive members who support and oversee the Headmaster in the day-to-day running of the School.

Members, including parents, old boys and girls, and others, must be active members of the Presbyterian Church of Australia in New South Wales or another church in fellowship with the Presbyterian Church of Australia.

Board members come from wide geographical and professional areas but all have a strong and supportive interest in the governance of the School. They fulfil their responsibilities on a voluntary basis.

The Board’s role includes: The selection, appointment, evaluation and mentoring of the Headmaster, the setting of budgets, the approval of capital works, the formulation of policy and strategic planning for the School’s future. The Board also ensures that all policies and practices in the School comply with relevant standards and regulations established by various statutory bodies. The Board reports annually to the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Australia in New South Wales.

Board Members

Adrian Lamrock  (Board Chairman)  M.A., Dip.Ed, A.Mus.A
Adrian joined th
e Board in 2012 and became Chairman in May 2013. He also serves as a member of the Finance and Enrolments Committees. He was formerly Headmaster of the School from 1998 to 2003 and so has a long and close connection with the School. He has had an extensive career in education and was Foundation Principal of St Paul’s Grammar School Penrith, and also Executive Director of the Crusader Union of Australia. Now retired, he lives in Newcastle and is a member of Grace Presbyterian Church at Warabrook, where he is the Session Clerk. He is married to Kerrie and they have three adult daughters, all of whom attended the School.

Shevahn Telfser  B.Sci.(Agriculture), Ph.D. (Vet Sci).
Shevahn is the manager of the international mobility office at Charles Sturt University dealing with institutions and students from around the world. Shevahn and her husband Frank and family are members of Bathurst Presbyterian Church and have two boys at The Scots School. She has been a member of the Board since 2006. Shevahn is the current chair of the Properties and Facilities Committee and Deputy Chair of the School Board.

Michael Inwood  Dip.App.Sc.(Agric)
Michael is an ex-student of the school, completing the HSC in 1984 and then studying agriculture at Wagga Wagga. He farms on “Toulon” at Glanmire where the Inwood family runs an environmentally sustainable superfine and ultrafine merino flock. He is married to Therese and they have five children, their eldest graduating from the school in 2012. He is actively involved in the local farming community, the School P&F and The Scots School Old Boys and Girls Association. Michael and his family are members of Bathurst Presbyterian Church.

David Mills
David joined the Board in 2009 and serves on the Property Committee. David retired after a career in the military, the public sector and a time working with the Salvation Army. He has an extensive background in military engineering, including project development and management, has filled corporate management positions within the public sector, establishing a training institute for vocational skills. He is married to Beverley and has two adult children. They worship at the Bathurst Presbyterian Church.

Mrs Jennifer Stone B.Soc.Work
Jenni joined the School Board in 2004, and is a member of the Board’s Audit Committee. Formerly she has been an active parent representative on school committees for 9 years, including Human Resources/Development and staff recruitment at local and district levels. She has had a long term interest and commitment to education, in all levels of schooling. Jenni is a member of the Cowra Presbyterian Church, with her husband David, now retired from that Ministry. Jenni has retired from her profession as a Social Worker.

Robyn White  B.A., Dip.Ed., Grad.Cert. Ad. LLN.
Robyn has been on the School Board since 2011 and has been associated with The Scots School since 2008 with two daughters in boarding in Galloway House. She has previously taught in secondary schools and currently teaches Literacy and Numeracy at the Western Institute of TAFE. Her family reside in Cowra and fellowship with Cowra Baptist church.  With her husband Ashley, she takes an active interest in their grazing property and has recently become the Chair of the newly-formed Community Cattle Program at the School and is also a member of the Audit Committee.

Rosemary McKay  RN,  B Bus (Acct).
Rosemary has been on the School Board since 2014 and is the Chair of the Finance Committee. After 20 years as a Registered Nurse, Rosemary graduated with a Bachelor of Business (Accounting) in 2003 and has since worked as a Management Accountant for the Local Health District. Rosemary is actively involved with the family farm and is married to Sean, a Scots Old Boy. They have had three children attend The Scots School. Rosemary regularly attends Bathurst Presbyterian Church.


Tristan Merkel, BInfoTech, MDiv.
Tristan has been one of the pastors at Bathurst Presbyterian Church since 2012.  He pastors Night Church, which welcomes boarders each week  during school term. A number of school staff also attend Night Church.  Tristan teaches Scripture to Years 1 and 2 in the Junior School.   Before training for ministry, he worked in online software development.  He joined the School Board in 2015.


 Jim Grant BA Dip Ed, BEd, MEd, JP.
Jim is a retired lecturer who still works on a casual basis for the Australian Catholic University (Strathfield).   He is a member of the Kirk  Session of the Presbyterian Church of Upper Blue Mountains.  Jim was a primary teacher, regional and state mathematics consultant and an educational publisher before spending over 20 years as a lecturer, having specific responsibilities for primary mathematics and professional experience.  Jim was married to his late wife Jean for over 40 years and has three adult children and grandchildren.


Reception: 02 6331 2766
The Scots School Bathurst
4173 O’Connell Road
The Scots School Lithgow
Pre-Kindergarten to Year 6
1 Col Drewe Drive

A Work of the Presbyterian Church of New South Wales